Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

If you read my last post, you would know that I’ve been pronouncing Spaghetti Aglio e Olio wrong all this while – I only found out after watching several YouTube videos that the “G” in the Aglio is silenced. So Aglio e Olio really just sounds like “Alio eh Olio” (some locals on YouTube even pronounce it like Ayo-yo?)

I like learning how to correctly pronounce meal names. I strive to try to pronounce dishes as close as possible to their original names (i.e. if an accent is required, I like to incorporate it). I value local cuisine names; i think there’s a certain aspect of authenticity when you pronounce a dish like how it would be pronounced locally.

Anyway, in my last post I talked about making Spaghetti Aglio Olio for my husband’s birthday. It was my first time making it and while the dish turned out fine for a first timer, if I could have gone back to re-do it I would have been more generous with the amount of olive oil drizzled. We are, after all, talking about a spaghetti with “Garlic” and “Oil” in its name. I think if I had drizzled a bit more oil, the spaghetti would have been “more plump” and tastier to eat. But there’s always a next time 🙂

Spaghetti Aglio Olio

Ingredients:

  1. Spaghetti
  2. Garlic
  3. Black peper
  4. Olive oil
  5. Seafood (I used fresh mussels without shell, this may be substituted with frozen seafood mix or prawns)
  6. Cherry tomatoes
  7. Capsicum (I got the small ones in a pack, so they came in various colors, i.e. red, green, yellow & orange, and made the dish look very colorful)
  8. Lemon juice
  9. Fresh parsley (Mix of Italian and English parsley

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan with boiling water, add in spaghetti with some oil to soften
  2. Once half-cooked, drain spaghetti and set aside
  3. Chop garlic, parsley, and capsicums. Cut cherry tomatoes into half. Set aside all.
  4. Fry garlic in olive oil, after fragrant add in mussels
  5. Fry in capsicums, drizzle black pepper
  6. Add in half-cooked spaghetti and fry with ingredients
  7. On low heat, add cut cherry tomatoes and pinch of salt
  8. Pour lemon juice and mix the spaghetti
  9. Sprinkle chopped parsley for garnishing

And la voila, you’ll get a delicious seafood Spaghetti Aglio e Olio with a citrus-y zesty after taste. Simple and now my goto spaghetti to fix up after those tired, long days of work. Good luck!

IMG_0559.jpg

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

