Tiramisu (sans cafe, mais avec chocolat?)

It was my turn to bring dessert to dinner and after craving for some delicious tiramisu all day, I decided to make it. I was shopping for ingredients at the supermarket when I suddenly realized that none of my younger siblings took coffee! Wait, so how was I going to make tiramisu without coffee? While I pondered over that, I had a can of drinking chocolate powder in one hand. In an instance, it suddenly clicked – why not substitute the coffee with chocolate? The idea got me excited.

I have never made tiramisu so I had to YouTube several videos for guidance. My favourite video is the one below:

I used the following ingredients:

  1. Bonomi Savoiardi (Ladyfingers)
  2. Cello Rich & Creamy Mascarpone (~500g)
  3. Cadbury Drinking Chocolate
  4. Fresh Milk
  5. 3 Egg yolks
  6. 1/4 cup White caster sugar
  7. Vanilla essence (got mine from a local market)
  8. Fresh strawberries
  9. Hot water

The method I used is similar to what is demonstrated in the video except I dipped the ladyfingers in chocolate (chocolate powder with hot water only, no additional sugar) instead of coffee. When preparing the mascarpone cheese batter, initially I mixed the eggs, sugar, vanilla essence and about half tub mascarpone cheese and diluted with a bit of milk but the batter turned out too sweet for my tastebuds.

UPDATE: I now cook the eggs first before combining with the mascarpone cheese to mitigate risks of salmonella poisoning. After mixing the eggs and sugar in a bowl, I set it over a saucepan filled with boiling water and let the steam from the water cook the mixture while I stir continuously.

So with my mixer running on medium, I slowly added more mascarpone cheese until the sweetness was tamed to my liking and added milk until I was satisfied with the texture of the batter – not too thick, not too runny but creamy enough that it could be spread smoothly over the soaked ladyfingers.

I had a medium-sized rectangular baking dish which I lined with a layer of soaked ladyfingers then mascarpone cheese on top. I repeated this twice before decorating the top of the tiramisu with sifted chocolate powder and strawberries. I don’t think it’s a norm to put strawberries on a tiramisu (?) but I had strawberries that needed to be consumed soon or they would mold so I used them to decorate the tiramisu top.  And la voila, a kid-friendly tiramisu without coffee and a hint of fruit freshness.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

Honestly, it actually turned out to be rather delicious! Or so the empty dish at the end of dinner would vouch for that 😉

Cover photo from Google.

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

